This page was printed from

Expert Q&A

News | August 1, 2014 | By:

Q: How are building and fire codes developed?

A: The International Code Council (ICC) uses a three-year cycle to develop model codes to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Tents and temporary structures fall under the International Fire Code (IFC), one of 15 different ICC areas.

The code development cycle for 2015 International Codes (I-Codes) was completed in 2013, except the International Green Construction Code (IgCC), which finishes in 2014. The 2015 I-codes (except IgCC) are now available from ICC in a variety of formats.

The 2015–2017 code development cycle will be the first full cycle to use ICC’s new cdpACCESS™ online system, a cloud-based system that allows anyone to submit code change proposals and enables collaboration.

ICC members can vote on Assembly Motions using cdpACCESS following the Committee Action Hearings. Only ICC Governmental and Honorary Members are eligible to vote at the Public Comment Hearing (PCH) and the Online Governmental Consensus Vote that follows the PCH. There are many opportunities, however, for industry professionals to have their voices heard in the code development cycle.

All ICC members must renew their membership and validate their voting members in the timeframes and deadlines specified by ICC Policy.

Source: International Code Council

Share this Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments are moderated and will show up after being approved.